Mayor and Council

subnav icon More

The Township of Lake of Bays is one of six lower-tier municipalities within the District Municipality of Muskoka. Council consists of 7 members:

  • 1 Mayor
  • 2 District Councillors
  • 4 Ward Councillors

Council is elected for a four-year term. The current term of Council began on December 2, 2014, and will end on November 30, 2018. All the voters in the Township elect the Mayor at large and the voters within their specific wards elect Council members.

Contact Council

Please feel free to contact the Mayor and Council with any questions or a matter of interest.


Robert Young

Mayor Bob Young

District Councillors

Shane Baker, Franklin / Sinclair Wards

Councillor Baker

Robert Lacroix, Ridout / McLean Wards

Councillor Lacroix

Area Councillors

Nancy Tapley, Franklin Ward

Councillor Tapley

Michael Peppard, Sinclair / Finlayson Ward

Councillor Peppard

Virginia (Ginny) Burgess, Sinclair / Finlayson Ward

Councillor Burgess

  • Resigned April 19, 2016

Ruth McEachern Ross, Ridout Ward

Councillor McEachern Ross

Terry Glover, McLean Ward

Councillor Glover

Council Meetings

Council meets regularly in accordance with the Council Procedural By-law and meetings are open to the public. Agendas and minutes are available in the Council and Committee calendar

Many municipal Councils have implemented a Code of Conduct to ensure that Council and its Committees share a common basis of acceptable conduct.

In some cases a meeting or part of a meeting may be closed to the public, for more information see closed meetings.

Find out about speaking at a Council meeting if you wish to address Council about a specific topic or request.

Contact Us